The Statue of Liberty

10-01-2014 Friday

21.00

 

‘Friday, school-trip day! Melman, Melman, Melman!’ Well, it’s not actually school-trip day. It’s weekend! That’s it. True that. And what does that mean!? No classes, just homework (as if I would ever bring the dishes to school and call that ‘schoolwork’). Next week is filled with tests and all, so I have to study this weekend. But … (drums, please!).

There might be a chance of me going to Bank. I have tried to convince Mum that I am doing this school assignment and that I have to do some field research. She started asking all these critical questions like,’ Why!?’ and such. As soon as I come up with some good answers, she’ll let me go.

Dad hasn’t got anything to say in these matters. He is more or less the man that cuts the meat on Sundays. We hardly ever get to see him, because he’s usually out for work. He’s either secretive about his job or I’ve just never bothered to ask him anything about it. It could well be the latter; he never bothers to ask me anything about school more than,’ Hi son, how are things at school?’ Finished off by a,’ Well, just as long as you stay out of trouble.’ I’ve developed the habit of asking him the same questions every now and again,’ Hi Dad, how are things at work? Well as long as you stay out of trouble!’ And then he just smiles and cuts the meat.

It’s quite difficult for me to get into any kind of trouble, anyways. I hardly ever talk in class and I don’t really hang out with anybody. Sometimes I wonder if anybody ever notices me at all. Even teachers don’t bother to ask me anything. Which, I think, is actually great. I am saved from the embarrassment of giving stupid answer in class.Image

Talking about stupid answers. We had this class quiz during geography and the teacher showed us a picture of the Statue of Liberty. She asked us,’ Who or what is this?’ She could have picked anybody in class to give the correct answer, instead she asked (if you’ve been reading my blogs, I guess you’ll know the answer) … Evelyn. You could almost hear everybody scream,’ NOOOOOOOO’. ‘The Empire State Building, miss,’ she said. The Empire State Building! For crying out loud. How? Why!? ‘I don’t want to live on this planet anymore.’

If you have any good answers I could give Mum so I can go to bank, that would be great. You can email me or leave a comment on Facebook. If you happen to know anybody who wants to befriend me on Facebook, let me know or … let them know. I could use some friends. Grandma, you know, the woman who gave me the idea of getting an account, is being very inquisitive and wants to know how many friends I have already got. She has no idea how these things work, neither have I. See me tomorrow. 

Leave a Reply

