Today’s The Day

11-01-2014 Saturday

18.30

I told Mum there was this arts-project at school and that we had to go out and make a drawing of a building that is typical for London and that we had to draw it in than 30 minutes or less. She said I could just find a picture on the Internet and make a drawing from that. Mothers just don’t understand.

After two hours of just staring at my screen, pretending to be looking for a good picture, I told here there weren’t any good ones and that I really needed to go out there and do some ‘field work’. She finally let me go on the condition that I would bring back some fish and chips for everybody. Since I like fish and chips so much I said I’d do it.

It’s not everyday that I get to go anywhere else than school. It took me some time to get to Bank, and Mum made me pay for my own fares, but it was well worth it. It was an incredible building and I got pictures and all! Of course I had to make a drawing, too. The sketch I made took me a bit longer than 15 minutes. I’m not much of an artist. I don’t think Mum will find out that it took me a little bit more than said 30 minutes. Besides, it’s not an actual school project anyways, so who cares!?

I walked a little up and down Threadneedle Street, sat in front Bank of England for some time and looked at the magnitude of the Old Lady of Threadneedle Street, just staring at it with great awe. Of course I was hoping to get a glimpse of Sarah Whitehead. I think I got there too early and it was still too light outside; no sign of her. Maybe I could draw a little ghost in there just for fun. I could definitely use some ghost hunting equipment.

When I got home I showed Mum my drawing, but she wasn’t impressed. I’m not too impressed about it either, but I did get to see the Old Lady. Not sure if this really was that bank from the Mary Poppins film though. I will have to watch that film again. Time to celebrate today’svictory. See me tomorrow. Image

Leave a Reply

