Hobos, Hypercubes and Homeless Shelters

Have you ever seen the film ‘Hypercube’? If you have, it might give you a good idea of what Grandma is like. Grandma reminds me of the elderly lady in Hypercube, although that lady was a little bit more intelligent than Grandma. I think they would get along just fine. They’d be introducing themselves to each other every two or three hours. I think it would be a hilarious reality show.

Enough said about Grandma, let’s talk more about life, the universe and everything. While we were taking the ‘old bag’ (that’s what Dad said yesterday) home, I noticed a lot of homeless people outside. Is it me or is there an ever growing number of hobos in London? Is this the same for the rest of the world or is it just England? It really looks depressing, it makes me feel sad and it makes me wonder what their story is. I mean, they must have a story, right? It’s not like it just happened overnight for no apparent reason. Things must have happened.

These people were covering themselves in cardboard boxes, newspapers, and bin bags – sometimes even full ones – just to keep themselves warm. I can’t imagine what it would be like to live out on the streets. It is most likely that I wouldn’t survive a week. Well, maybe a week or three until I’d starve to death. There’s enough fat on my body to last me as long as three weeks, I am sure. As Mum won’t let me go outside much I really have no idea where to go to or who to turn to and I have absolutely no experience in begging for money. I tried it one time on my Dad, he just smiled and walked away.

As we drove by this somewhat dilapidated house, I saw a rather young woman covering herself in something that looked like tin foil and part of a sleeping bag. She had an enormous amount of bags around her and a shopping trolley full of household appliances. Don’t think they were still working; they looked rather old and broken. What was she going to do with all that stuff? Did she take it with her from the home she used to have?

Image

I have all these questions and I guess they will remain unanswered for now. I am going to keep a little short today, as I don’t want to fall asleep on my keyboard again. Last night I woke up in the middle of the night with my head on the keyboard and the letters pressed into the side of my face. It must have looked silly. I was so lucky there wasn’t anyone around to see me like that. 

Ohw, one more thing (and then I’m really off). I drew this picture today, because somebody on Facebook was looking for a knight in shining armour. I think she liked the picture as there was a ‘wow’ and an ‘lol’ in her comments. I call it Arthur the Dragon Slayer and I think an armour looks good on me. Though I might be a little too short for a sword like that. And I’m off. See me tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

