What Have I Won?

I’m A Liebster Blog Nominee!

Glad to see you. My name is Arthur Didyus – but you are allowed to call me ‘sir’ Arthur, if you want to – and I am about to hit it big time. For the first time in my life I have been nominated for something (fact 1). And although I haven’t even won anything yet and I have no idea if there’s a prize to win, I feel delighted to have been nominated for something at all. All my efforts have not been in vain and I think being nominated is already a victory onto itself – which is not really a fact and is also not really about me.
There are a couple of rules I have to follow and one of them is that I have to list 11 – not 10, not 12, but 11 – facts about me. I am not the listing kind of person; I am more the story type of guy (fact 2), so I’m going to just write this whole thing as if it were a blog about my everyday life. For those of you who have been reading my posts regularly, you know that the only thing I really do is just tell you about what my silly little life with the odd semi-philosophical frustration about things like ‘best’ and ‘genuine’ (fact 3).
Is there anybody who doesn’t know yet that my name is Arthur? Well, there you have it and although it is a fact, I’m not putting it on the list. Most kids my age already look quite manly, except for me; I have this boy-ish look that I would like to get rid of. My spots have nearly all gone, just the odd spot every now and again, which has actually only made me look younger. It’s the special soap I used a to achieve this result (fact 4). And with results I am talking about the spots, for I don’t think that soap can make you look younger. If that were true, there should also be soaps that can make you look older. Do you think they sell soaps to get rid of that schoolboy look?
No, I didn’t think so. I’ll be turning 15 in a week and a half (fact 5) and for my birthday I don’t want a lot of presents – just one or two will do – most of all I would like to look more of a man. I guess it would be hard for somebody to wrap that up. Looking more like a man is not very easy, I can tell you that. It is especially difficult for somebody without any facial hair, whatsoever. I don’t even have that fluffy hair yet (fact 6). You know, that facial hair that some kids think makes them look cool, but just makes them look stupid.
One day I want to be a rich and famous author (fact 7) and travel the world to thank all the people personally who’ve been supporting me writing this blog. I think I would really like that. Not only are they supportive, I also learn an awful lot from them. As I am more or less stuck under ‘the rock’ – that’s what I call my house (fact 8) – I don’t get to see an awful lot more than this part of London. I can dream my way to school (which I sometimes do) and I can also dream on my way to school (which I also do sometimes).
Like my neighbour – Mr Bent – I am socially awkward in real life (fact 9), but I have gotten quite good at being very sociable over the Internet. I have problems reading people’s body language and facial expressions (fact 10), which makes it hard for me to survive a conversation out there in the 3D world. But, here on the vast and endless fields of the 2D Internet, I don’t have to read people’s body language or smell their bodily odours. I haven’t thanked Grandma enough for pushing me. That woman deserves a medal, too.
Nat Andrea, I would like to thank you very much for nominating me for this Liebster Award. To show my gratitude, please read the first word of each paragraph. All that’s left for me to do is to answer your question, to come up with a couple of questions of myself for the people that I have to nominate for this award. Before I do that, though, I would just like to say that I have the feeling at this moment that this award is more or less a chain mail without the promises of money and the dead threats.
Thanks for the incredibly difficult question. For a 14-year old boy who gets 2 pounds of pocket money a week imagining what life would be like if money was no object is quite the task (fact 11). Although I guess my classmates would surely know what to say to this within a split second. My dream is to see the world and to travel to far and distant places not worrying about a job, a house, kids, obligations. Just travelling from place to place with a knapsack on my back and an endless flow of loose change in my pocket to give to weary travellers. And I hope that answers your question.
For my own nominees I have got this question: Who would you rather bring to a deserted Island: your best friend or your biggest enemy and why? I am very curious to your answers. Unfortunately, Nat has already been nominated; otherwise I’d nominate her just because I’d like to see her answer. Nat, if you’re reading this, you are allowed to answer it anyways. You can also do it personally through a Facebook message, if you want to.
The end is nigh. I’m not talking about the end of the world, but the end of this blog. I believe that all that is left for me to do is nominate a couple of other people for this Liebster Award. I’d like to nominate AB http://abozdar.wordpress.com; Gluestickmum http://gluestickmum.wordpress.com; Yoshinky http://yoshinky.wordpress.com; Ron Lewis http://ronlewisinsurance.wordpress.com; Maggie Wilson http://mcwilson1956.wordpress.com; Katie Morningstar http://katiemorningstar.wordpress.com; and last but certainly not least, the one and only Stephanie http://thequotegal.wordpress.com.
Love their blogs! Follow them and also follow Nat, because she’s got a fabulous blog, too. Hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed writing it. It only cost me four hours of my life. If I fail school, I’ll just put the blame on Nat. Although I don’t think Mum would accept that for an excuse. My Saturday is about to start … finally. See me later.

Arthur

41 thoughts on “What Have I Won?

  1. oh so you did go ahead with all the facts- and in such a unique way too. (: i actually just wanted you to answer that one question, without doing the facts list thing. (; but yes, i’ll answer your question in a facebook message.
    sorry this cost you four gruelling hours of writing, but i (selfishly) don’t regret nominating you! i thoroughly enjoyed reading this! (: methinks you’ll go very far.

  2. Thanks so much for the nomination, Arthur. I’m flattered, but undeserving. You are very wise beyond your years, and even if you don’t have any hair on your face, I can tell that you are much more intelligent and mature than the other boys that do! It’s kind of ironic that when you’re younger you want to look older, and when you’re older, you want to look younger! Keep up the great work, and I look forward to reading more! Write on!

    • Dear Mr Lewis,

      It’s a true story you’re telling, though I wonder why that is. We want to look older while older people want to look younger. Is it a glitch in our software?
      I’m flattered that you’re calling me wise, but when it comes to things like maths or history … I fail horribly.
      Somebody once told me to write what I know about, which is … my life. You know an awful lot about insurances and write about that in a punny funny way. I was very curious to see what you’d do if you were to write something totally different. I’m really looking forward to it. I hope you enjoy doing it.

      Kind regards,

      Arthur

      • Hi Arthur,

        Sorry for not responding sooner. I saw your comment the other day, and then I couldn’t find it again to respond. I’m still not that proficient using WordPress yet. 😉

        I’m not sure if never being content with our current age is a “glitch in our software” or just a bad case of “the grass always seeming to be greener on the other side.” In my case, I wish there was a little more “grass” growing on top of my head!

        Being good at certain academic subjects does not make one smart, and being bad at certain subjects does not make one dumb. You have a good head on your shoulders and you have common sense, and that makes you wise even if you aren’t that great in math, etc. If you had more of an interest in math or history, I’m sure that you would be doing much better.

        I was a technical writer for 10 years, but I don’t consider myself to be a very good writer. Because you asked, I will try to write something a little different in the near future.

        All the best,

        Ron

      • Dear Ron,

        Thank you very much for all your kind words. Sometimes it takes me some time to respond, too. There’s a real life out there that has to be lived. Sometimes I am so caught up in WordPress I forget there’s a life outside, sometimes it’s the other way around.
        Growing grass on your head … I was trying to picture it. I guess you’re right. The seaweed is always greener in somebody else’s lake.
        What do you mean when you say you were a technical writer? I think you write wonderfully well.

        Kindest regards,

        Arthur

      • Hi Arthur,

        Yes, the virtual life is nice, but the real life is (or should be 😉 better. Regarding the grass on my head… A favorite saying of mine is “A bad hair day is always better than a no hair day. 😉

        As a technical writer, I wrote all that boring stuff that nobody reads such as software and hardware installation manuals, user guides, configuration guides, hardware assembly guides, field service manuals, release notes, online help, etc. I’m better at writing instructions and procedures than I am with essays! Thanks for the compliment though. I am still pondering something fun and clever to write about that isn’t too serious.

        All the best,

        Ron

      • Dear Mr Lewis,

        I think your no-hair day looks good on you.
        Wow, you wrote all those things. You know what it is. All those machines and stuff come with manual, but I never really figured that there would have to be someone to write those manuals. So, you know a lot of technical terms. At least you have a lot of experience in writing. I think you could use that experience and should use it.

        Kindest regards,

        Arthur

  3. Arthur – – see ?? Even the description of WHAT he writes about is dry and technical and (yes, as his ex-wife, I can say this) boring! But luckily there’s so much more to people than their hair and their vocations, eh? Ask “Mr. Lewis” to tell you about exteriors (looks) vs. interiors (heart and soul) – – he has a great analogy about that.
    Congrats again, Mr Didymus!
    (I decided to refer to you by last name if I’m referring to Mr. Lewis the same way!) 😉

    • You were married to Mr Lewis!? I didn’t know that. Well, you seem to be getting along in a funny kind of way. Or am I wrong?
      Is it an analogy I will understand? (I had to look up the word analogy.)
      Mr Didymus … sounds kind of official, doesn’t it?

      • Yes Arthur, I believe it is an analogy that you will not only understand, you will be able to even rephrase it in a superior way! And Mr. Didymus does indeed sound kind of official – – you are officially terrific! Hope the birthday was all you hoped!

  4. Hi Arthur,

    Don’t fall over, but I finally responded to your Liebster Award question. Thanks so much again for nominating me, and I’m sorry it took so long for me to get it done!

    I’m really not a technical person, and I don’t come from a technical background. I kind of stumbled into technical writing by accident. Yes, I have to admit that “Ms. Lewis” has a point that it can be boring, but it can also be kind of fun too, depending upon what kind of a project (or product) you are working on. I’d usually take the information that the engineers wrote and just tweak it and try to make it more readable and understandable for the “audience.” Fortunately, there would be reviews, and if I didn’t get it right, the engineers would let me know. 😉

    Yes, “Ms. Lewis” and I were married for almost 10 years, and let me tell you, it was two of the best years of my life! (Just kidding in case Ms. Lewis eventually reads this. 😉 We are fortunate because we still do things together and as a family, and we usually get along quite well (most of the time).

    I heard that today is your 15th birthday! HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I wish you good health and happiness in the coming year!

    ps Please call me Ron, not Mr. Lewis. It kind of makes me feel old. 😉

    • But you actually ARE old, Mr. Lewis. And Ms. Lewis is quite obsessive so “eventually” is not in her vocabulary. She reads things here immediately, if not sooner. But she laughed at your “two outa ten year” joke. Very funny.

      PS. Good job on Arthur’s Liebster question. PPS. It’s kinda fun referring to myself in the third person. PPSS. However, you really should update your Liebster response since Arthur is now 15, and you stated he is 14 years old in your post yet you acknowledge above that you’re aware he had a birthday. PPSSS. Do you want to tell Arthur he is right, or shall I? About us getting along in a “funny kind of way” that is. PPSSPS. Please let me know when our parent/teacher conference is for Desmond. PPSSXYZ. Nothing more, just seeing how long you would pay attention when the PS is longer than the actual letter.

      • Hi Arthur,

        Please excuse the private dialog going on here between Ms. Lewis and I. After all, whose blog is this, yours or ours? I guess that’s what you get when your blog name is “NeverMindArthur!” 😉

        I wanted to thank Ms. Lewis for reminding me (and for announcing it to the entire WORLD) that I actually am OLD! I keep telling her to stop confusing me with the facts as my mind is made up, and I (still) like to fancy myself as a young, virile stud, that is until I look in the mirror and reality comes crashing in. I’d also like to remind Ms. Lewis that she too had a birthday this month, and while I’M “OLD,” she’s no “spring chicken” either!

        I did want to thank you, Ms. Lewis, for the compliment you paid me regarding my response to Arthur’s question. That was very kind and considerate of you, and yes, I’ll repay you the small cash advance that I owe you tomorrow. I’m glad to hear that you enjoy referring to yourself in the third person. However, with that “little” multiple personality disorder of yours, I’m somewhat surprised that you don’t refer to yourself in the fourth or fifth person!

        And “Yes, Ms. Stephanie,” I’ll make sure I correct the careless error I made pertaining to Arthur’s age, “immediately if not sooner!” What a terrible oversight! This mistake was probably a function of my (advanced) age! And if you haven’t already, please feel free to tell Arthur that you were, are, and always will be right (and that I was, am, and always will be…wrong)!

        Regarding our parent-teacher conference with Desmond’s teacher, that is this coming Thursday, May 3rd, at 1 pm. If you need a reminder as to where his classroom is, please feel free to let me know. If you need a reminder as to where his school is, I will be happy to pick you up (once again) and drive you there so you don’t get lost.

        With regard to the BS, I mean “PS being longer than the actual letter,” I paid attention all the way to the very end, even though I AM OLD!

        And Ms. Lewis, you know I was really kidding when I said that our 10 year marriage was TWO of the best years of my life. They were actually the best two-and-a-half years of my life! 😉

      • Dear Mr. Lewis – – The “No Spring Chicken Either” is somewhat amused at your clever response. And somewhat irritated (in Tommy Lu fashion) – – but she is hereby requesting that we take this conversation over to one of our own blogs (preferably mine, where I can turn it into a humor piece!) and try to do a joint co-post in a peaceable fashion. We can use different color fonts. I’ll be red (for my hot temper) and you can be lavender/purple. Like the walls I painted in what used to be OUR kitchen and hallway that you detested.
        See you there!
        NSCE (No Spring Chicken Either)

  5. Dear Ms. Lewis (aka NSCE),

    Humor? Who’s joking? Why would you want to take this pleasant conversation somewhere else? Do you really think that Arthur minds us hijacking his blog? I think that the font colors that you suggested are quite appropriate. To your credit, you were totally fair because you did give me a choice of colors for the kitchen and hallway… lavender-purple OR pink (“salmon” as you insisted). I had you exactly where you wanted me, and I taught you a lesson that I will never forget!

  6. Dear Ron and Stephanie,

    No, I don’t mind. That’s some good material you have there. You two should really start a blog together, because you remind me of The Odd Couple (I hope you know that film it’s one of my favourites). Maybe you’re even funnier than that, if you don’t mind me saying so.
    Some people go into counseling to save their marriage, I think you should go into counseling to save your divorce. This reminded me of the arguments my parents often have and they claim to have a happy marriage. Is there still some love between the two of you? I get the feeling that at least one of you has got problems letting the other one go (but I might be mistaken, because I don’t really have any experience here). If you want to save this divorce and not end up together again, maybe it would be good idea to get some counseling.
    I’m looking forward to that blog!

    Kind regards,

    Arthur (whose now breaking the rules at school for doing something private on the computers)

  7. OMG!! “Save that Divorce.” Arthur, where do you come up with this stuff? That is brilliantly hysterical! You’re right – – we are teetering over the boundaries of what a healthy divorce should be. I can see a whole comedy routine on this “subject flip.” Not to mention that you Arthur are ONE PERCEPTIVE GUY…..and that is why I think you’re going to be an amazing PUBLISHED author. Just as an aside: We DO have a very atypical divorce but the traditional way was just not working out for us. And our kids understand that we are not reconciling (i.e. we do not give false hope) but at the same time they get to “go to the Zoo, celebrate birthdays, or have us all drive together to one of their recitals or football games all in one car” and there is that sense of “normalcy” for them. Very important for me that they get to have that still! Adults can be the bigger people and put aside their differences for other’s sake. And EVEN learn to laugh at those differences. And we will do a post. If i can convince Mr. Lewis that I’m the funnier one and he should just cooperate with what i tell him to write. 😉 You are breaking the rules so I hope you won’t get into trouble….then Unic will really have something to gossip about! Did I misspell her name? Serves her right!

  8. Arthur, you never cease to amaze me! Are you sure that you are only 15 years old? As “Ms. Lewis” said, you are very “perceptive,” and I still say that “you are wise beyond your years.” We are familiar with the Odd Couple, and we probably do have a little bit of an odd or different type of relationship. What you said about saving our divorce was classic and really funny! You have a unique way of looking at things from a different and creative perspective, which is good. Ms. Lewis and myself are still pretty good friends (most of the time), especially when she’s not angry and yelling at me. 😉 Keep up the great work!

    BTW, I added a new page to my blog with some poetic song lyrics that I wrote (in case you don’t like reading about insurance or other “technical things).”

    • Dear Ron,

      I asked Mum just to be sure, but she said I really was (though they did get my age wrong on the birthday decorations).
      It’s nice to know that people can still be friends after a break-up. I think the kids should be proud of you. There’s a lot of kids at my school whose parents are divorced but can’t stand the sight of each other.
      I’m going to check out your creative writing, because I am very curious and I am very happy that you are showing another you, too.

      Kindest of regards,

      Arthur

  9. Actually, there was a difficult period when “Ms. Lewis” couldn’t stand the site of me either. I finally got smart and got a haircut and bought some new clothes, and things have been much better since then! 😉

    All the best,

    Ron

    • Dear Ron,

      This made me wonder what you looked like, especially your hair. I don’t have a lot to say about my hair, Mum makes me go to the hair salon every two months. And they always cut it the same way.
      I think it’s pretty great the way you two get along with each other.
      Btw, I looked at your poems and I thought it was great. It really shows another you and I am glad that you added that page to your wordpress.

      Kind regards,

      Arthur

  10. Hi Arthur. I was actually joking about getting my hair cut and changing my appearance. Because we have children together, Stephanie and I have to see each other every day, so it just makes sense that we try to be on a friendly relationship most of the time. Unlike a lot of couples, we still are friends and like each other and try to help each other (most of the time). 😉 I’m glad that you like the new poem page that I added to my blog. Now I have to think of something inspiring to write about!

    Have a great weekend!

    Ron

    • Dear Ron,

      Inspiration … that’s a good one. Where does it come from? What inspires you? Wish I could help you on that. Brains are a great big mystery to me, I have no idea how they work. Hope you’ll find that inspiration soon, because I can’t wait for the next poem.

      Kind regards,

      Arthur

Leave a Reply

