Queen Anne’s Revenge

27-03-2014 Thursday

‘The world is my lobster.’ I kind of liked the proverb, except I couldn’t find a way of fitting it into today’s blog in any sensible way. Actually, come to think of it, I’ve never heard anybody use the proverb in everyday life so far. Obviously I’m not the only one who can’t fit it in properly. Is it being used in literature at all? Come to think of it, I have the feeling proverbs are getting more and more a thing of the past. Am I the only one? I think I’ll try my best to give this proverb and others some more attention in my writings.
It’s going to be a short story today, because I spent my time writing something else which I’ll tell you about in a minute (or two, depends on how fast you are reading). For some reason we started talking about pirates today during history class. Don’t ask me how we came to talk about that, because I was not really paying attention. I was reading a note Evelyn had sent me about this weekend. It read that she was looking forward to meeting my family and that I shouldn’t worry about it too much. Truth is that I just have no idea what to expect from Dad, he has a knack for embarrassing me using only a handful of words and a stupid look.
Anyways, we were talking about pirates (well, the teacher was) and when I got home I looked up some information on one of the most famous pirates I know of: Blackbeard. I didn’t even know he was British and that he was probably named Edward Teach and one of his ships was called Queen Anne’s Revenge. Why don’t we get taught more of these things at school? Why are we always stuck with the boring bits of history? This Blackbeard story inspirited me to write some lyrics (which is why today’s story is so short). Here is my go at writing lyrics, too bad I’m not a musician.  

 

Queen Anne’s Revenge

We’ll set sail just as soon as the winds are right
If the wind won’t come we’ll be here for the night
So, drink up me hearties, yo ho
Drink up me hearties, yo ho

Ninety men were killed but we won’t shed a tear
‘Cause they weren’t ours and we know no fear
So, drink up me hearties, yo ho
Drink up me hearties, yo ho

Queen Anne’s Revenge and her forty guns
With a well-aimed shot she will burn your buns
So, drink up me hearties, yo ho
Drink up me hearties, yo ho

We’ve got rum, we’ve got beer
All the pirates are here
There is nothing to fear tonight
Edward teach us a song
So we can all sing along
We’ll sing all through the night

And Edward stood up
As he raised his cup
His voice booming mighty low
We’ll set sail just as soon as the winds are right
If the wind won’t come we’ll be here for the night
So, drink up me hearties, yo ho

When the band joined in
They all started to sing

We’ll set sail just as soon as the winds are right
If the wind won’t come we’ll be here for the night
So, drink up me hearties, yo ho

And before too long
They all sang his song

We’ll set sail just as soon as the winds are right
If the wind won’t come we’ll be here for the night
So, drink up me hearties, yo ho
Drink up me hearties, yo ho

 

That’s it, I’m off to bed. See me tomorrow. 

7 thoughts on “Queen Anne’s Revenge

  1. Wow, you’re really expanding your gift for words to all realms. Great job. Also, I’ve heard “The world is your oyster” much more than the lobster proverb. I like proverbs but I think writer’s look at them as “cliches” and avoid them. BTW. It’s really special how you end each post with “See me Tomorrow” – – Kind of your trademark closing!

  2. “Truth is that I just have no idea what to expect from Dad, he has a knack for embarrassing me using only a handful of words and a stupid look.” Hmmm, sounds a bit familiar with my 11 year old daughter, and my 10 year old son frequently says to me “Notice anyone else laughing dad?” 😉

    I loved your poem! You are talented in so many ways, Arthur. I’m looking forward to hearing how this weekend went. 😉

    • Dear Ron,

      Haha, well, I feel kind of sorry for you Mr Lewis. Kids can be horrible and horribly honest. Well, I guess they wouldn’t say those things if they didn’t love you and felt confident about your bond together.
      Thanks for your kind words about my poem. I’ve only started writing these things this year and I have no idea if it’s any good.
      How is the Liebling Award story coming along?

      Kind regards,

      Arthur

      • “Mr. Lewis” (I’m getting the biggest kick outa calling him that!) is about to post his Liebster award response today, Arthur. He told me that, at least. Was this song lyrics or poem. I really liked the “refrain” so I’m hoping song lyrics? HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

Leave a Reply

