It’s My Party (and I … )

28-03-2014 Friday

I should have posted this yesterday, but I was too busy getting ready for today. Brace yourselves my birthday is coming and we’re celebrating it today (if I’m not here, you’ll know why). Mum sent me to the hairdresser’s yesterday, and we went shopping. She wants me to look like a real man this coming tomorrow. It was supposed to be a surprise party, but Grandma spoilt the surprise. I called her up yesterday to tell her once again about the ticket to the London Dungeon. When I wanted to hang up she said,’ See you tomorrow at noon, then.’ followed by a deafening,’ NOOOOO,’ by Mum and a,’ See, I told you so,’ from Dad. Sometimes I get the feeling that Mum and Dad live in a world I am not part of; sending each other messages that I don’t understand.
I haven’t said much about this, but I’ve lost some weight by paying attention to what I eat and by doing some exercises each night before I go to bed. It’s not much, but it’s something and it makes me feel a lot better about myself. Mum noticed it when we were buying clothes. I’ve grown an inch (maybe two) in length, but shrunk an inch (or two) in width. We were both a little proud and it really made my day and it made me look forward to my birthday even more. I am also very curious about what Mum and Dad got me. They told me I’d like it a lot, but they have really gone to great lengths to keeping this a secret. A surprise not even Grandma was able to spoil.
Also, Evelyn is going to come over today! So she’ll be celebrating my birthday with me and my wacky family. It’s too late now to inform her upfront about everybody. I’m just hoping nobody does anything embarrassing. You know what happened at Grandma’s the other day and I don’t think I could explain a thing like that to Evelyn. Let’s just pray that Grandma does not find our liquor cabinet. Dad days he has hidden all the ‘good stuff’ and by that I hope he does not mean all the sweets I like most.
When I woke up this morning and walked into the living room Mum and Dad had even decorated everything. I’ll be honest about this; I overheard them arguing while decorating the room last night. Mum kept changing the things Dad had done, Dad kept complaining that nothing he did was right, Mum kept saying that Dad just doesn’t know about these things and in the end I walked into the room and a nice sign said Hoorah, 14 Years! I’m turing 15, but it’s just a minor detail and Mum and Dad still haven’t noticed … I’m not going to say anything and see who discovers first. That person is going to get a prize. So, I’ll leave you for now. I’ll probably be telling you about this tomorrow. I’ll make up for the lost post. See me tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “It’s My Party (and I … )

  1. Have a great day today, Arthur!
    When my youngest daughter turned 2 my Dad bought a bunch of helium balloons – including one with 3 on it. It was my daughter’s favourite.
    Don’t worry about any embarrassing things happening. You know they’ll happen. It’s what families do, whether they know it or not. Any cringe moments help bond a relationship. And they’ll make a great blog post! Looking forward to hearing how it goes. Xx

    • Dear Mum (Can I call you Mum?),

      Thank you very much. Sorry I am responding so late, but I’ve been quite busy. Glad to hear that my parents are not the only ones who do these things. Luckily nobody noticed. Technically speaking I was still 14 yesterday.
      You were right about the bonding. I think we’re now a lot closer to uncle Jonesy.
      Kindest of regards,

      Arthur

    • Thank you very much Katie,

      There were more stories than I could write about in one single post. I’m afraid I’ll forget about half of these stories. Luckily I’ll have my family to remind me of these things years from now.

      Kindest of regards,

      Arthur

Leave a Reply

