Ramen and the Ministry of Truth

02-05-2014 Friday

Dad, believe it or not, took a day off on Friday to take care of Mum, because she was still not feeling well. I think he needed a day off of work himself, too, and he looked a little ill himself. If Dad gets ill, I’ll have to take care of two people. It’s difficult enough as it is taking care of myself. How do Mums do this? Taking care of an entire family. Mothers deserve some kind of medal or reward for this un(der)paid 24-hour job. Why isn’t anybody funding this!? Anyhow, whatever it is that’s been bugging us all, it is kind of running in the family. Grandma was supposed to be coming tomorrow, but Dad said it was best for her not to come. I think this was one of the few times he was actually happy to call Grandma.
Dad is somewhat of a work-a-holic. Whereas Mum is a food-a-holic and Internet recently taught me that she’s on a seafood diet: she sees food and eats it. Dad used to say that she was on a cucumber diet. When you are on a cucumber diet you are allowed to anything but cucumbers. If it’s supposed to make you fat, it is working for Mum. Today they had a good talk about Mum’s health and especially the part concerning her weight. Dad showed her some pictures from two years ago and Mum has really gained a lot of weight in that short time. Mum decided to go on a real diet for a change, but she needs some help. Dad is going to find someone for her to help her with that. Maybe it improves her cooking skills as well. I call upon the almighty Spaghetti Monster to give her the skills of cooking, Ramen!
I was getting a little bored being home and not feeling well, so I started reading a little book called The Gospel Of The Flying Spaghetti Monster (given to me by Auntie D. when my parents weren’t looking). On hand it’s hilarious, on the other hand it’s quite disturbing and I don’t know what to think about it. Should this be taken seriously? I think I know too little about these things and I dare not ask Mum. I think she’d be offended by it for some reason. I’m not giving it to Dad either, for it might give him ammo in his arguments with Mum. At first I wanted to hide the book under the mattress, but then I figured that it was quite a cliché spot to hide a certain kind of magazine and also the first spot parents check to see if their kids are hiding those magazines. That’s why I hid it some place they’ll never look: the bookshelf.
It’s nearly weekend and I have a lot of catching up on homework to do. I am doing this project on the history of America. So, I’m reading about Pilgrim fathers, (Amer)Indians, colonies, laws, tea-parties (how British) and all kinds of important dead people. Actually, it’s quite interesting to read about these things though I often wonder whether it truly happened the way it was written down. I wasn’t there to witness anything myself, so I’ll just have to go by what others have written down and accept that as the truth. Though I can’t help thinking about 1984 and the Ministry of Truth.

See me tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “Ramen and the Ministry of Truth

  1. Very clever, Arthur. Hiding things in plain sight is always the way to go…as long as you don’t stick it in the window next to the Unice-annoying smiley face.
    Things are never written about quite as they happened. Especially in state school education where lazy curriculums will continue with disproven histories. (Trying to tell Boo that the Great Fire of London didn’t wipe out the Plague, but did improve housing conditions was a challenge. It seems the first thing kids learn at school is that teachers are always right…even when they’re wrong.)
    Everything written always has a bias. Even if the Pilgrim Fathers and Native Americans had had Twitter they’d have been tweeting from very different positions. But the education system doesn’t really like you thinking like that for another couple of years at least. It’s why A levels are harder than GCSEs, because that’s the point you realise everything you know is wrong. Although watching QI has a similar effect.

    • Most of the times we don’t see what is right under our very noses – Dad never finds anything he is looking for in the fridge and most of the time it’s right in front of him (which annoys Mum, because he always calls for her help).
      So, maybe I should stop thinking like this at school and just say yes, and amen when teachers say something … ohw, that’s actually what I’ve been doing so far and it seems to be working. In that case I can’t wait for my A-levels, finally something challenging. By the way, I believe it was Weird Al Yancovic who wrote a song once called ‘Everything You Know Is Wrong’. I think teachers should listen to it a little more often.
      Thank you for these wise words.

      Kindest of regards,

      Arthur

      • Haha. I think your dad might be related to my husband. Just the other day he accused me of chucking away his Dolcelatte cheese…which was right under his nose in the fridge. I’m with your mum in this one!

Leave a Reply

