Don’t Know Much About History

06-05-2014 Tuesday

Today I realized it’s only about two more months till the end of this school year. I know that I once said that time is so much fun when you’re having flies, but this is ridiculous, I must have had a lot of flies this time of year for I still remember starting somewhere in September 2013 as if it all were but a meal ago. Only 14 years old and ignorant. Look at me now! 15 years old and a little less ignorant. Ignorant nonetheless.
I was catching up on my American history and while working on my project (I’m sorry, it took up so much time that I have been unable to find the time to manage WordPress as well) I came across a conquistador called Juan Ponce de Leon. It is said that this Juan was looking for the fountain of youth, although some say that he never mentioned anything about searching for it. Be honest, if I were to be looking for a fountain like that, how many people would you tell about it? Would you post it all over the Internet? Anyways, he never found it, but he did find Florida, which must be really swell for the people that live there. They must be so grateful that somebody discovered all that land for them.
So, this fountain of youth – as that name says – is supposed to restore ones youth. But what does that mean? It raised a lot of questions when I saw that name. The word ‘youth’ is not really specified and remains unclear to me. How old is ‘youth’? What is youth? What does this fountain do to people who are already in their so-called youth? What does it do to babies? Do they suddenly look 18? That would look really weird, a baby in diapers with the face of a teenager.
I think some people really have it by the wrong end. Most people assume that this fountain, if it were to exist, would give you back your youthful looks, for whatever that means. That’s where they are wrong I think. If such a fountain existed, why would bathing in it or washing yourself with it, or drinking from it, only have an affect on your skin? Being an old woman held captive in a young woman’s body wouldn’t make any sense. That would complicate your life incredibly. Imagine being 60 years old with the looks of an 18-year old. Who would you date?
If this fountain were to make any sense it would have to affect you, the whole you, and nothing but the you. Everything, your mind, your body, everything about you would be youth again. Let’s assume that 18 is more or less ‘youth’. Which would also mean that you’d probably forget everything you learnt after you had turned 18. Which would mean you’d have to relearn everything and maybe become a totally different person from who you were. Which, of course, you wouldn’t know. You’d be wondering why all your friends suddenly looked so incredibly old. I think I’d better stop, because it’s mind boggling and I’m starting to get dizzy thinking about this.
As you will probably understand from reading all of the above, I’m not really making any progress with my project. I can get so distracted sometimes by these small yet interesting stories that I start fantasizing and completely forget what it was that I was supposed to be doing. This whole Ponce de Leon thing was just one short paragraph in a whole chapter and I have no idea what the rest of the chapter was about. I’d better get some sleep and dream about this fountain, hopefully tomorrow I can focus a little better. This history stuff is getting to me, I never thought I’d like it half as much, as I do. See me tomorrow.  

6 thoughts on “Don’t Know Much About History

  1. Very true, Arthur. I’m not sure I’d be willing to swap, giving up my experiences for a lack of wrinkles. Actually, can I hand some of them back for slightly more dewiness?

    • Dear Mum,

      Well, maybe going back a couple of years wouldn’t be so bad. Though sometimes I wonder if we haven’t already found some sort of fountain of youth in all those cosmetics. They can make people look old and young. Though it’s only looks then.

      • I’d definitely be happier if there was something (preferably chocolate-flavoured) that could rejuvenate the inside as much as the outside. No good looking like a teenager if you can’t get out of a chair.

Leave a Reply

