Better Safe Than Sorry

10-05-2014 Saturday

I am so glad it’s weekend. Not because I can take a rest, but because I can now spend all my time on rewriting my lost chapters. So far I’ve finished 2 chapters since Friday and I hope to finish another one and maybe a half tomorrow. It’s taking up most of my time. Mum’s been asking me why I looked so stressed out and why I more or less locked myself up in my bedroom. That was a bit of an awkward question and I didn’t really know how to answer it. I don’t know if Mum realised how awkward the question was. When answered the question with,’ Just, stuff.’ She gave me a look I don’t recall ever having seen it on her face before. Then she shook her head and walked away mumbling some things about teenagers.
There’s a lot of rewriting to be done and my Dutch friend Belle said that people didn’t know what I wrote in the first place so the only one who knows things have changed a little is you (she meant me). That kind of calmed me down a little. She’s my age, but she’s so incredibly wise and sensible. Are all Dutch kids like that? Wish I had more Dutch people in my class. Franz is from Germany, which is close to the Netherlands, but, unfortunately for Franz, not close enough to be rubbing something of the wisdom off. I guess that would have been more challenging for me, too, if there were some more Dutch kids here. I sometimes get the feeling that there is at least a dozen of illiterate monkeys in heat in my class. Please, don’t use the word ‘dozen’ in my class, because those same dozen of illiterates don’t know that it means twelve. Let’s not even get started on ‘baker’s dozen’.
Tomorrow I am meeting Evelyn’s parents, which also kind of raises the stress levels. What am I going to wear? What will I say? What will they think of me? Am I not too short? Evelyn told me not to worry, which basically means that I should worry. It’s no way to calm people down,’ Don’t worry.’ You know that when someone says that people are going to worry. It’s more or less the same thing when people say,’ I don’t want to interfere, but … .’ Whenever people say that, you bet your life they are going to interfere. Just because they don’t want to, doesn’t mean they are not going to. They’ll do it anyways, but they just won’t enjoy it.
Evelyn told me to wear what I normally wear, but that’s just not good enough, because I normally wear my school uniform. I am at school most of my time and I don’t change immediately when I get home. So much for that piece of advice. Mum helped me pick out some clothes, and I think it’s best to go with that. Mums know what other mothers will like, I’m sure. Though I’m not sure about the tie. For some reason I fear that I might be overdressed. On the other hand, if I don’t wear a tie, and Evelyn’s father is wearing a tie, I might be seriously underdressed. Maybe I should bring the tie in a bag. Or wear the tie and when it turns out I’m overdressed, I’ll just casually take it off without anybody noticing it.
I wonder what Evelyn will be wearing. I could always call her and ask her to wear a tie to, so that way we’ll both be safe. I told her that I wouldn’t shave for a week to look a little manlier when meeting her parents. She started laughing out loud. Maybe it’s because I haven’t got any facial hair growth yet. Dad really has this big bushy beard, how come I haven’t got anything yet? Maybe I inherited Mum’s genes; she hasn’t got a beard and she’s much older than I am. It’s time for bed. See me tomorrow.  

3 thoughts on “Better Safe Than Sorry

  1. ‘No offence but…’ is my least favourite start to a sentence. It’s ALWAYS followed by major criticism that ALWAYS upsets. Off-setting it with ‘no offence’ doesn’t take the sting away.
    Good luck meeting Evelyn’s parents. I’m sure it will go well. Maybe get Evelyn to text you as to whether her Dad’s wearing a tie or not. Then you can arrive dressed appropriately.
    You’ll be fine though, Arthur. You’re adorable. They’re going to love you. And they can’t be that bad. They raised Evelyn after all.

    • Dear Mum,

      I am probably one of the very few teenagers left in this whole wide world who hasn’t got a mobile phone and I am very happy about that. But sometimes we call each other and I just use the house phone.
      Everything went quite well. You were right, they weren’t that bad. A bit poshy, but in a good way. Were you nervous first time you met your first boyfriend’s parents?

      • I was terrified! His family was quite rough and his mum terrified the life out of me! His dad was ok, but I still shudder at the thought of his mum.
        Well done on a) picking a nice girlfriend and b) doing so well on your first meeting.

Leave a Reply

