Word Up!

09-05-2014 Friday

I am going to keep it very short, because something incredibly terrible happened today: I lost five chapters of my book. Luckily I had a back up of the other 9 chapters, but after I had finished it I forgot to make another one. I opened the word document and for some strange reason the only thing in the document were page numbers. Each and every word had been replaced by page numbers. I have no idea how that is even possible!
So, I spent most of my day first trying to see if I had any back-up at all of the five chapters and then I tried my best to rewrite as much as possible. Which is what I’ll be doing tomorrow and Sunday as well. I think I can manage to rewrite most of it while it’s still kind of fresh in my memory. Hopefully I’ll have finished it by Monday, because I would definitely like to send it to publishers before summer holiday and I don’t think I’ll have a lot of time during my schooldays, as it’s the last term and for some reasons teachers always save the best and most for last.
If you don’t hear from me this weekend, I’m either crying my eyes out or busy rewriting my book. Take care and see me a.s.a.p.

7 thoughts on “Word Up!

  1. Oh, Arthur. Technology is like the girl who had a little curl right in the middle is her forehead: when it’s good it’s very very good, when it goes bad it’s horrid!
    Think of your re-write as an improving edit. Chin up. Xx

    • Dear Mum,

      Thank you for the support. It took me three days and I’m nearly finished and it might just be an improvement, though I’m not sure as I lost the other version. Hopefully I can finish it all this week (rewriting and checking on mistakes and all that).
      Hope you are doing fine. I am very sorry I haven’t had time to read other blogs. I will catch up as soon as everything’s back to normal.

      Kindest of regards,
      Arthur

      • There’ll probably be further edits to come as it goes down the publishing process, so, on the bright side, it’s given you experience. Congrats on doing so well.

      • That’s very kind of you to say. I’m not sure I’d have the patience to write an entire book. But good luck with yours. I hope you’ll sign my copy for me when it’s published.

      • If I ever get this book published, I’ll sign it and if I earn enough money with it I’ll come and deliver it personally.
        Writing does take a lot of patience and time. Even more time than patience maybe. I don’t know how to measure patience, though.

      • No, I’m no good with patience either. But I shall be experimenting with the best cake recipes in preparation for a visit in time to come.

Leave a Reply

