King Of The Britons

11-05-2014 Sunday

Today was a very exciting day, because I was going to eat at Evelyn’s. I was totally prepared for it. I put on some casual but smart looking pants, a nice shirt and a tie, but all pretty casual – as casual as a tie can be. Mum had asked a friend of hers, who’s a hairdresser – to come over this morning to cut my hair. I think that was just a little too much, but at least Mum was trying her best to be helpful. On the other hand, I think she also just grabbed this opportunity as an excuse to cut my hair again the way she likes it.
Dad dropped me off at Evelyn’s at four and a somewhat short and chubby man wearing his Sunday best opened the door. He looked me up and down a bit and said in a really posh voice,

’ Are you the one they call ‘Arthur’?’

I looked at him with big eyes. I was so taken aback that I just stared at him and totally forgot to answer the question. Then he said,

’ Well, speak up son, are you or aren’t you?’

            ‘ Yes, sir, I think I am.’ I stammered.

‘ You think you are? Well I never. How can one not be certain of who one is? Tell me, have you come here to dine with us tonight?’

It didn’t feel like I was doing very well, I felt myself getting smaller and smaller and I wanted to turn round and run home at that very moment. Then I heard Evelyn calling from upstairs.

            ‘ Is that Arthur at the door, Dad?’

Her father looked at me again and then he yelled back at Evelyn.

            ‘ If he is, he does not know it himself.’

I heard some sort of growl or aargh or something and then I heard footsteps coming down the stairs. It was Evelyn coming to the rescue. She looked stunning in her bright red dress all the way down to the ground. I had never seen her looking so lovely as she did then. Red really looks good on her. She saw her father and then she saw me and I think she could tell by the looks on my face that I was a bit in shock. She hit her father on the shoulder and said in a playful angry voice,

‘ Dad, what did you say to Arthur? Have you been messing with him already?’

Her father looked at her with a smile on his face and said,

            ‘ Who? Me? I’d never.’

Then he looked at me and said,

‘ What are you still standing outside for? Come on in, ye who is called Arthur.’

            ‘ Dad, stop it,’ Evelyn said in that playful angry voice of hers.

I think my love for Evelyn grew at least two inches when I saw her in that red dress. Also, I had never really noticed her incredible English accent before. Maybe it was because of her father’s posh voice.
When we got into the living room Evelyn’s mother was there watching some series on TV. She got up and then it was then that I noticed she was rather tall, taller than her husband and she was also wearing her Sunday best. I felt a little underdressed and maybe too casual, but I think I got away with it. Evelyn’s mother reached out to give me hand and before I could even say anything Evelyn’s father said,

            ‘ He’s Arthur, King of the Britons.’

Followed by a hit on his shoulder from both Evelyn and her mother. Then her mother said,

‘ It’s nice to finally meet you Arthur, king of the Britons. We’ve heard a lot about you. Pay no attention to my husband; he’s not always like this, only when he’s nervous.’

He was nervous!? Well, you could have fooled me. A lot more happened, but it was all quite positive and her parents are not so bad as they had been painted. Actually, they were quite friendly. They were a certain kind of relaxed posh people. Her mother can surely cook by the way. We had Sunday roast and it actually tasted like what I have always imagined Sunday roast should taste like. Now I’ll probably never dare to invite Evelyn over for dinner. I’d better learn to cook quickly.
I wanted to say more about the evening, but it’s getting quite late and I really need to get some sleep. Tomorrow I hope to finish the last chapter of my book and then I’ll have to re-read everything again to make sure there are no spelling or grammar mistakes in there. Luckily I’ve also got a friend abroad to help me out a little. That’s it and that’s that. See me tomorrow.  

One thought on “King Of The Britons

Leave a Reply

