I’d Like One Google, Please!

21-05-2014 Wednesday

Gluestickmum reminded me of the fact that I am terrible at remembering names. I gave her the advice that I read in a book (or cheap ol’ magazine at the dentist). According to that article or book when we are confronted with new people we are so busy with introducing ourselves that we don’t pay a lot of attention to the other person’s name even though we think we do, our brains seem to think differently. Don’t ask me the details about this, because I am not a brainologist. Therefore we should always sort of repeat the other person’s name out loud. You could for instance check with the other person if you heard his/her name correctly, like ‘John, right?’ This will often help you remember the name. It helped me a little bit.
It also reminded me of the book that Darren Brown wrote (if you don’t know who he is, go check him out). In his book he talks about mnemonics. If I remember correctly these are ancient methods of remembering stuff in easy ways. For instance, let’s say you have to remember your grocery list. With all the gadgets we have nowadays, who needs his brains!? We’ve got external braindrives like mobile phones, tablets, and so on. But let’s just assume you would really have to memorize a grocery list.
According to these ancient methods described by Mr Brown all we have to do is visualize a room, walk through it and put all the items in certain spots in the room as you pass them. So you enter the room and the doorknob is a cucumber, on the left there’s a clothing peg with some bananas on it, you walk passed the couch and there’s a bag of crisps on it, etc. The only problem I had was that I always got lost in my room and the room – for some strange reason – always seemed to have changed by the time I got to the store. I don’t think Google maps will be able to solve this problem for me. Maybe if they had taught me this at primary school, it might have had a better chance of being successful. Why, if these things are really so great, aren’t they taught at schools? Our teachers give us these long lists of words to study, but often forget to teach us the different ways of doing this.
A lot of teachers nowadays think we’ve got an advantage to kids before the Internet era, because we can Google anything. Kids in those days had to travel miles and miles on a bike with no saddle to a library where they were to go look for the right book, that had the right information and this could take up hours and hours. I don’t know if Google is really much of an improvement. We are simply overwhelmed with websites full of information, but who tells us which website really has the correct information? And if we can’t spell correctly, we never find the correct website. Well, luckily Google has solved that problem mostly by giving us suggestions. But a simple search leads to tons of sites and I never know which one to choose. Wikipedia seems to be the most favourite site amongst my classmates. It’s like the secondary school bible that holds the answers to life, the universe, and everything.  That is if I have to believe my classmates. I’d rather read a good book.
Ohw, there’s one thing I really have to share here. Sometimes when we’re doing a project our teacher asks us to give a list of our sources. You wouldn’t believe how many of my classmates still think that Google is the source, the only source, and nothing but the source. No matter how often our teachers explain this, they can’t seem to come to terms with the fact that Google is a search engine and not the source of all information in the stupid project that they handed in. Imagine writing down in the source list ‘the library’. Facepalm!

See me tomorrow. 

One thought on “I’d Like One Google, Please!

Leave a Reply

