Braaaaaains.

30-05-2014 Friday

I’ve decided to start working on the sequel to my Missing Pages. The Missing Pages is being read by some people to see if there’s anything that needs changing. I liked writing it so much that I decided to work on a second. I might even like it so much that I decide writing a third and a fourth. Who knows!? Even if they don’t get published ever, it’s still good fun and good practise.
I think the hardest thing to do is to find a good title. I’ve written some lyrics before, and I always get stuck on a title. Whereas sometimes it’s okay to name the song after the chorus, I think that with certain lyrics it’s just a sign of a lack of creativity. Sometimes a title should really add something. Maybe it should be a question answered in the lyrics, or maybe it should be a one-word summary.
How do other writers do this? Do they come up with the title afterwards? It would be more logical. Only afterwards you know what the story is about. Then again, coming up with one beforehand might just boost creativity a little or give you a hint as what to write about. When I write I start off with some sort of vague idea and things get clearer on my way to the end of what I was writing about. I don’t really start with a plan or some incredibly well thought through concept. This kind of means that I am somewhat of a delete freak.
Although I really love writing, I know that it is time consuming and sometimes really frustrating. Sometimes I just sit behind my computer, staring at the screen, wanting to write, but nothing comes out. What a weird machine that brain is. Wanting to write, but not giving anything to write about. Sometimes I wonder if the wires in my brain are correctly connected and working properly, because at times it seems as if different parts of my brains just don’t communicate. One part goes,

‘Hey, let’s sit down and write! I really feel like writing!’

And then another part, totally confused, goes,

‘What are we sitting down for?’

And yet another part, who has absolutely no clue what the other parts were going on about,

‘Oh, look, a screen and some buttons. I wonder which game we’re going to play.’

There’s absolutely no communication whatsoever between various brain cells. I hope I’m not the only one who experiences this every now and again. I won’t be here this weekend, because I’m going to have a sleep over at Grandma’s as my parents want to have a weekend all to themselves … lucky me.

See me after the weekend. 

7 thoughts on “Braaaaaains.

  1. ‘Hey, let’s sit down and write! I really feel like writing!’

    And then another part, totally confused, goes,

    ‘What are we sitting down for?’

    And yet another part, who has absolutely no clue what the other parts were going on about,

    ‘Oh, look, a screen and some buttons. I wonder which game we’re going to play.’

    That is my brain EVERYDAY. I wish it would stop!!! Except for let’s add ‘What did I come into this room for?’ Or ‘How did I get here? I don’t remember driving all this time.’ This was a funny article. Thanks for the chuckle this morning. 🙂

  2. Have fun at Grandma’s house. Remember, don’t talk to any big bad wolves on the way there.
    Btw, your brain sounds just like mine on a run. Part of it thinks it should be fun and easy and I’ll feel amazing. The other part just wants to give up and eat cake, because it hurts and makes me get out of breath. I try to drown the voices out with music, but it doesn’t always work.
    Brains are very weird indeed.

  3. Oh, be sure to take extra bandages and adhesive tape in case Grandma begins to come apart! The bit about your brain…..I think you are suffering from writer’s block. But sometimes, I come up with a title before I write and as you said that gives me a direction, but then after I’ve written the piece, I change the title to match it better. There is no right way….there is only what works for you!

  4. I love that third part of your brain! “Buttons!” lol. This was great but the one thing that stood out for me was that you are somewhat of a delete freak. Try to lay off. Until the very end of the creation period. Then turn on your filter.

    • It’s just that I rewrite sentences all the time. Sometimes it’s just one or two words, sometimes I delete half of the sentence to rephrase it. I sometimes even delete an entire paragraph to rewrite it. I guess you’re right … this is beginning to sound like an addiction … Will this be the next thing in the long list of alphabet soup? ADHD, ADD, ODD, DLTFRK?

Leave a Reply

