Gee, I’m Glad It’s Raining

06-06-2014 Friday

I have been more or less crying my eyes out for the past three days. I feel somewhat better today at least okay enough to write about it. Evelyn and I broke up three days ago. She said she felt it was time to part, because things have changed. Don’t ask me which things, she wouldn’t tell me. It does not look like she is having a hard time dealing with it. She’s been quite her normal self, if you’d ask me. On Monday everything seemed quite normal to me and then on Tuesday she suddenly ended it all.
When I came to school last Tuesday Evelyn was kind of standoffish. Normally we give each other a little kiss and a hug, but this time: nothing. All she said was,’ Can we talk after school?’ in a kind of weird way. It was not her normal way of speaking, but I couldn’t really make out what was different and what it was supposed to mean. Women are such a mystery to me. I’ve been thinking about reading that book called Men Are From Mars and Women Are From Venus, maybe that could help me understand things better.
Evelyn is kind of avoiding me and she constantly hangs around with this guy called Zack. Worst thing is, the two of them are sitting at what used to be OUR table! I guess it’s now their table. I don’t need a table anyways, because I kind of lose appetite when I see her. Actually, I have lost my appetite in general. It feels like I’ve lost about as much weight in the last three days as I did last month. Breaking up is a very fast way of losing weight; I bet it’s not really a healthy way. My appetite will come back soon, I bet, and it will probably bring reinforcements, too.
Mum has been really supportive. Dad has been … Dad. First thing he said when Mum told him (I didn’t tell him, and I think you’ll understand why when you read his reaction),’ Looks like you’re going to die a virgin after all, son.’ Mum was mad at him for saying that. I couldn’t really be mad, because I was too busy feeling sad. This is where Mum made me some tea and Dad hid behind his newspaper. From the looks of things Mum wanted to throw one of the teacups at him, but decided not to when she realised she had gotten them from Grandma as a birthday present years ago. I would have thrown one if I were Mum.
Hopefully this will pass soon, because it has surely affected my writing skills. It took me a long time to write just a couple of paragraphs. Ohw, I don’t know about you, but I always like to listen to gloomy songs when I feel like this (which isn’t very often). Here’s one of my favourite songs I listen to in times like this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IqjUC8tDH9s.

See me tomorrow. Hopefully. 

5 thoughts on “Gee, I’m Glad It’s Raining

  1. Oh, Evelyn. Evelyn and Arthur – has a nice ring to it. Evelyn and Zach? Pfft. 1940s meets High School Musical. Never going to work.
    I’m so sorry, Arthur. 😦

  2. Oh no, Arthur! I don’t know why Evelyn would break up with you when you seem like such a genuine, creative and intelligent person. Either she’ll come to her senses, either now or twenty years in the future, or she wasn’t meant to be.
    If she wasn’t meant to be then it means there is someone out there who is and they are going to appreciate every single little thing about you and you’ll make each other happy.

    I really hope you find your happiness soon.

    • Thank you very much for these sweet words. I guess it’s just that we were not meant to be, even though at a lot of moments it seemed as if we were. Hope you are doing fine.

      Kindest of regards,

      Arthur

  3. Arthur – – I have lost respect for Evelyn. I think you may have intentionally skipped over blogging about the part where she tries to explain her reason for doing what she did, but it cannot have been sound. I am very sorry that you had to go thru this but honesty, we all kinda have to during our teen years (think how rare it is to marry our “first.”) But the silver lining is – – this usually means something more meaningful is around the corner. Even though you don’t feel much like writing, throw yourself in hook, line and sinker. Some of your best work is likely to emerge.
    hugs,
    Stephanie
    ps. If you lived in the states, I would be introducing you to girls so fast, your head would spin. 😉

    • Dear Stephanie,

      You really know what to say, how to say it and when. This is a good start of my day and it made me wish I lived in the States. I guess you’re right and I should really look at it like that ‘more beautiful things await me’.
      Thank you ever so much for the kind words. I hope you are having a great weekend. I’ve been seeing a lot of pictures on facebook of you and your family and I can’t help thinking how lucky you are having a great family like that (as far as I can judge from the pictures). And your kids should feel really lucky to have such a great and inspirational mother.

      Kindest of regards,

      Arthur

Leave a Reply

