When You’re Alone (And Life Is Making You Lonely)

07-06-2014 Saturday

Thanks everybody for your lovely and inspirational words, they really meant a lot to me. You’ve made a teenager with a broken heart smile and realise that there are so many beautiful people out there and that worse things happen at sea. Evelyn doesn’t seem to be sad, so why should I!? I am not the only one nor the first one suffering from a broken heart and this may well be a good lesson in life for me.
Mum is taking me shopping today to cheer me up. It is supposed to be a sunny day and a good day for going out to shop till we drop. Dad is not coming. At breakfast Mum said to him quite scornfully, ‘You are not coming, today, you’re staying in to make yourself useful for a change. Here’s a list of household chores that need to be done. And I expect them to be done by the time we get home.’ Dad looked at her the way Cheddar often does after it’s been told off for doing something wrong. He knows perfectly well that his remark yesterday was below the belt and Mum really showed him who’s boss.
I’m getting ready to leave, Mum said she wanted to get there early and start off having tea somewhere downtown. That’s when she started singing Petula Clark’s ‘Downtown’. For some reason it’s very difficult to resist singing along to this song so I joined in. Dad ran for cover. I’m sure that had he not done so, he would have joined in as well; probably against his will, but he would have done so nonetheless. Now, thanks to Mum, that song has been stuck in my head all morning.
Dad walked in to apologise for his remark yesterday. I’m glad I was decent. Parents always have a way of walking in while you are just getting dressed or undressed. Luckily for the both of us I was just packing my bag with some food and drinks for the road. Anyways, I think Mum put him up to it. I think it was either apologise to me or do all the household chores she told him to do. He still won’t be coming along with us, though. First of all Dad is not the shopping kind of guy. Secondly, he has to stay home with Cheddar, and last but not least: Mum is still kind of angry with him.

That’s it, I’m off. Have a great day everybody and thank you very, very much. See me tomorrow. 

Leave a Reply

