Flying Saucers

17-07-2014 Thursday

I am awfully sorry. Mike told me people were concerned about me and that you were wondering how I was doing. It made me cry and I have been crying a lot lately, which is also one of the reasons why you haven’t been seeing me around for some time. The crying bit and the fact that I can’t work on the old machine Grandma has lying about and which she thinks of as a computer. It runs on a programme called MS Dos and I can’t seem to figure out just how it works. Grandma has no Internet provider (at least not that she knows of), which doesn’t really matter as this machine wouldn’t be able to connect to any Internet even we wanted to. I think the machine should be exhibited in a museum. Grandma might well be exhibited along with it holding a sign saying ‘Last Of The Dinosaurs’.
Mike has been so kind to post something on my behalf and I am glad he did. At this moment I am at Mr Bent’s house using his brand new computer. At least, it’s brand new to him, but it’s a second hand computer that he got really cheap. I think he got it cheap because it’s still running windows 2000. Which was also the last year this computer was used before Mr Bent started using it. It’s quite obvious that both Grandma and Mr Bent were born before the computer era and have never really succumbed to modern life. I ran to Mr Bent’s place today after hearing about how concerned people were. It really made me happy and I am sorry I haven’t been able to contact any of you.
If you read Mike’s post you’ll know that my parents are getting a divorce. After Evelyn and I broke up it felt like a lot was in the air, but it wasn’t love, most of the time it was plates, vases, glasses and other breakable stuff and, for a change, I was not the one breaking them. Mum and Dad were fighting most of the time and throwing these things at walls, floors and sometimes each other (no one got hurt, luckily). At one point Mum just couldn’t take it anymore and went to Grandma’s. After a week, just when I thought she’d be coming back because no one can stay longer at Grandma’s than that, I decided to join her. This really says something about the way things were at ‘home’. When living at Grandma’s seems better than living at ‘home’, something must be awfully wrong. It was and still is.
Dad is a workaholic, which might be just as bad as being an alcoholic, the alcoholic he might well become one day sooner or later the way he’s been drinking of late. Dad was gone most of the time and got home late from ‘work’. I am still wondering which boss lets you drink so heavily on the job as he usually came home smelling of cheap whiskey and cigarettes. I had to take care of everything in the house, while trying to finish the last days of school. When Dad was at home he was usually in no condition to take care much of anything, not even himself.
Right in the middle of writing that piece Mike posted yesterday Dad came home drunk again and started shouting and screaming incomprehensible things. I really couldn’t make heads or tails out of it. I had never heard so many curse words come out of anybody’s mouth, not even Mr Bent’s. My vocabulary has grown a lot since Mum and Dad have been fighting, though I don’t think my teachers are going to be pleased when I use any of these words at school. I shall refrain from using them till I find a suitable time and place.
Mr Bent has just entered the room with a nice hot cup of my favourite tea. I am awfully sorry to not have posted anything for such a long time and I will ask Mr Bent if it is okay if I pop in every now and again to post something. I miss you. I miss you a lot. I miss writing. I miss my house. I miss a lot. I think it might just help me to get through this not so pleasant phase of my life writing about, but I am in no condition to write. I’d rather write when I am in a better mood. I guess this is also part of life. Thank you very much for your concern and I hope I can talk to you soon. And please, feel free to add Mike on facebook. He’s visiting me next week and I am sure you’ll love him as much as I do.

Kindest of regards,

Arthur Didymus

4 thoughts on “Flying Saucers

  1. Hoo Boy. You are dealing with a LOT, Arthur! I do hope you find some time to write, if not here on the blog, at least in a private journal. It will help to get some thoughts in order. Plus, I find it’s great therapy. Free, too!

  2. Oh, Arthur! I’m so sorry for all you have to go through right now! This is terrible. I will tell you funny story though….this place I live in right now…all my neighbours are over 80 years old. And can you even believe that they are actually pretty cool people? But getting to know them better, I was appalled to see that most of them still have prehistoric mobiles (if indeed they even have a mobiles because certain parts of this place get no signal at all!) but worse, they even have dial-up connections for their computers! It’s been my sacred mission down here to obliterate all dial-up connections and get people onto mobiles where possible! It’s been quite a project. I’ve also seen one lady who had an Apple computer that I really do believe had to be one of the very first Apples. It wouldn’t interface with modern printers or anything! So you are not alone in your search for modern technology in the land of the elderly! I’m with you! Will be hoping you survive and come out in a better, calmer, and more technologically enabled place! 🙂

  3. Oh Arthur. I am so glad you are OK. Mike responded right away to my message. He is such a good friend for you. I’m sorry about your parents. It’s not easy, but remember, this is their issue, it has nothing to do with you. Leave a post when you can. Even if it’s just to say you are OK. Lots of Love (that’s what LOL used to mean) to you. Katie.

Leave a Reply

