Lost Creativity

30 – 09 – 2014
Dear you,

I hope you have recovered from the shock of me not being who you thought I was. Well, to a certain extend I was, I am just a little older, a little greyer, and maybe not as wise for my age as I seemed to be – as I am older than 15, much older – but still quite likeable and still the writer that I was or am, I hope. You may have gathered that my name is Felix Bent, I was born 02-09-1968, which is a pretty good year to be born in if you’d ask me. I guess that I am happy to have been raised in a time without modern technology like mobile phones, Internet, and what have you. If we wanted to talk to each other (even though I wasn’t very talkative) we’d just talked face to face and only the happy few had a Mum or Dad that would let them call someone up over the electric telephone. That is, if they were really lucky or rich, because calling somebody was rather expensive. Not having all that technology was also one of the biggest problems while jotting down my memoirs as Arthur. I had to find a way of not letting it be known that I lived in an era in which mobile phones had not yet been invented, at least not to our knowledge. It was a thing of the future. It was something we saw on Star Trek, but couldn’t dream of having it for real one day. Best thing most of us had were two cans and a piece of string. Do kids still make those?
I said I hoped to still be that writer that I was and used to be. Sometimes I wonder, if age takes away that youthful creativity. To me it seems that a lot of grown-ups have forgotten what it’s like to be a child and to have this world of imagination in which anything and everything is possible. A world in which you can carelessly run about not thinking about what might happen, that feeling of having no responsibilities and thinking that everything is going to turn out alright. Skies can be purple, clouds can be blue and if I say there are three suns orbiting the world, then there are three suns orbiting this tiny little world, because I am not hindered by knowledge and facts. Sometimes I feel that grown-ups have lost that creativity because they have been too busy with acting all grown-up. Some people need to child-down.
Maybe that was what I needed to gain from reading my memoirs and writing down those long forgotten stories here on WordPress: that youthful creativity. I guess I had to relive a little of my childhood to remember what it was like to be that child and get back what was lost in the process of growing up and becoming that responsible adult. And even though my childhood was mostly spent in my room looking at my neighbour Unice and poking fun at her by putting up posters to let her know how I felt about her and her peculiar behaviour, I think it the way that I dealt with that situation was just a great display of what I needed to regain. I think I have found what I needed and hope to continue what I started in more or less the same way I started it: writing. That is it for today … see me tomorrow.

10 thoughts on “Lost Creativity

  1. Lovely to have you back, Felix….also, I’m pleased to see we share same b-day, though I’m a year younger (always good to be the younger one!) I like to hear that phrase ‘child-down’…..it seems to be needed more and more these days!

    • We share the same birthday, that is a coincidence. I hope, as you are younger than I am, you haven’t turned grey already, like I have. I usually cover it up a little by wearing a hat … but I think the world still notices it.
      Yes, people do need to child-down a little more. I’m glad I am back and hope to be writing on a regular basis again.
      Thank you,
      Felix

  2. Ah welcome Felix. It’s good to have you back and your confession was more of a pleasant surprise than a shocking discovery.

    Look forward to reading about your life now.

    • Hi Uju, thank you for your comment. I’m glad it wasn’t shocking. I never meant to shock anybody. Hope you will like the new stories. Hope to be reading some of yours, too.
      Kind regards,
      Felix

  3. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’m following you, so I’ll be back!

    • Dear Russel Ray,

      Thank you very much for your nice comment and camping out here. Glad that you enjoyed your stay. I’m following you, too. Though I don’t always have the time to read everything, I try my best to keep up.

      Kindest of regards,

      Felix

Leave a Reply

